blogmas · Uncategorized

Day 13 | Baking – finally!

Today was weird.

I set myself an alarm today at least! Woo! So I awoke at the prime time of 9:30am with maybe 6-7 hours of sleep. I am a person who has always craved sleep for at least 8 hours, more like 9. Also,Β as I have mentioned, I am a terrible morning person so didn’t feel very chirpy this morning. This is what I get for staying up watching youtube/playing the Sims.

I pretty much assumed my armchair position for the next 2-3 hours trying to wake up. I had my coffee and iced water but they didn’t work. I also cannot shift the taste of bleach in my mouth from not washing my hands after cleaning out the sink last night and biting my nails. DO NOT DO THIS. I will be wearing gloves from now on because this taste is the worst.

I finally dragged myself to the shower and thought I’d have some green tea and sit out on the balcony. I was going to go for a walk but it was fairly cold and the skies looked like they would cry any minute. This actually woke me up, finally! That or the fact it was now gone 3 hours from when I woke up.

Next up, setting up the slow cooker for tonight’s casserole! We cheated a bit and used a packet of herbs to speed things up and chucked in a bunch of veg and chicken.

IMG_5811.jpg

IMG_5812.jpg

I then FINALLY made some white chocolate caramel blondies!

First I had to make the caramel sauce by melting down some sugar and then adding unsalted butter and double cream. I love the transformation sugar goes through when making caramel, look at the changes!

Screen Shot 2015-12-13 at 14.57.05.png

It turned out slightly darker than I had hoped but that’s ok, still tastes delicious! I’m going to need some more recipes involving caramel to use all this though.

For the blondies, I combined brown sugar, an egg, vanilla extract, flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, unsalted butter, some of the caramel sauce, white chocolate chips and a pinch of salt.

After layering in a dish, I also decided to sprinkle some more white chocolate chips on top with some caramel sauce for good measure. And then again once baked… This recipe is far from healthy.

IMG_5831.jpg

Of course I had a taste straight from the oven and it was the yummiest caramel treat I’ve ever had. White chocolate and caramel goes so well together.

IMG_5833.jpg

In hindsight, I should have used a wider and shallower tin really to get more out of it but that doesn’t take away the amazing taste!

I still felt a bit weird in the afternoon so sat and watched some prime time tele. This happened to be Marly and Me, which of course I bawled my eyes out over. I cannot watch this film, honestly.

I then had a nap at 8pm (bad time for a nap) and shortly after went to bed.

Not really sure what’s up with me today, maybe it was the bleach…

Leave a Reply

